Cobden Round 3 2010


Plenty Of Action At Cobden’s Country Series Round

AKA press release

The South West Kart Club hosted one of the largest events in its history on the weekend with in excess of 220 kart racers converging on the Cobden Raceway to compete in round three of the Victorian Country Series.

With 20 drivers assembling on the grid it was Melbourne driver Toby Pope who proved too good in the highly competitive Clubman Light category, victory in the final race of the day secured his win.

After a second and fifth in the opening two races Pope battled with fellow Melbourne driver Leigh Nicolaou, Geelong’s Tyler McDonald and Hayden Renshaw in the final race before crossing the line first ahead of McDonald. Third place in the final was enough to secure the runner-up spot overall for the J&A Tuning-backed Nicolaou.

Nicolaou went one better in Clubman Heavy where he took the win ahead of Horsham’s Remo Luciani and Swan Hill driver Brendan McGinniskin.

Luciani, who has won 50 state and six national championships during his illustrious career, proved to be dominant in the Clubman Over 40’s category – as was Melbourne’s Michael Griffiths in the 125cc Leopard Heavy class.

Local Warrnambool drivers filled the top two spots on the podium in the 125cc Rotax Heavy class with Corey McCulloch taking the win over Broe Shields. Geelong’s Callum Clissold was third.

Mount Gambier’s John Dankowski won all three races in the Senior National Pro class to claim the overall victory ahead of Andrew Rae and Bradley Anderson.

In the Junior categories, it was South Australian’s Todd Hazelwood and Simon Hodge who took the challenge to Anton De Pasquale and local lad Kyle Rethus during the racing in Junior Clubman.

Hazelwood won all three races throughout the day to claim the overall victory. De Pasquale finished second overall ahead of Rethus.

Hazelwood also enjoyed a strong run in the Junior National Heavy class to finish second being the current Australian Champion Jordan Nicolaou. Melbourne’s Teagan Osborne finished third.

Fast femme Brittany Hall continued her strong run of form throughout 2010 with victory in Junior Performance over Mildura driver Luke Burgens from Mildura and Harley Benson.

In the battle of the youngest drivers, the Midgets class for drivers aged between seven and ten years of age, the standout driver was Dylan Hollis who was victorious over South Australian Chase Wooley. Portland youngster David Denboer was third.

Other victories across the day went to Jake Dixon (Rookies), Justin Francis (Junior National Light), Andrew Rae (Senior National Light), Scott Ferguson (Clubman Super Heavy), Dean Foster (Leopard Light) and Shane Wharton (Restricted 125).

Series Co-ordinator, and National President of the AKA, Trevor Crane was delighted with the smooth running of the weekend’s event and the large number of visitors to the South West region.

“It was very pleasing to see over 200 entries received for this weekend’s event and the South West club have put on a great event,” said Crane.

“There was some great racing all throughout the day and I think that all of the visitors to the region have thoroughly enjoyed their time here and many will be back in December for the running of the Victorian Closed State Championships at the venue.”

Results HERE.

The next round of the series will be hosted by the Hamilton Kart Club on August 22.

Our Sponsors

DPE Superstores
Remo Racing
Tony Kart Australia
Baron Engine Developments
Vortex MiniRok
Melbourne Kart Centre
Dunlop Kartsport
Kentucky Fried Chicken
AllStar Graphics
IAME Engines
Bendigo Community Bank
Chambers Portable Line Boring
LS Design
Pro Karting